This program page is also available in the following languages:

العربية   |   中文   |   Español   |   Français   |   Deutsch   |   Polskie   |   русский

Das Train USA Programm von Cultural Vistas bietet Studierenden, Studienabsolventen und jungen Berufstätigen die Möglichkeit, studienfachbezogener Praktika in den USA zu absolvieren. Die beruflichen Fachrichtungen umfassen kaufmännische Bereiche, Ingenieursberufe, IT, Design, Hotel- und Tourismus-Management und viele weitere. Vergangenes Jahr unterstützte Cultural Vistas‘ Train USA Programm über 4.600 TeilnehmerInnen aus mehr als 100 Ländern bei der Verwirklichung eines Praktikums, das ihnen wichtige berufliche und sprachliche Fähigkeiten sowie persönliche Erfahrungen in einem internationalen Rahmen bot.

Seattle Space Needle

Was ist das J-1 Visum?

Ein Praktikum für Studierende oder junge Berufstätige darf nur mit einem J-1 Visum durchgeführt werden. Das J-1 Exchange Visitor Program wird als Austausch für internationale Verständigung durch das Bureau for Educational and Cultural Affairs des amerikanischen Department of State verwaltet. Es bietet die Möglichkeit, praktische Erfahrung im eigenen Berufsfeld zu sammeln, Kultur und Alltagsleben der USA zu erfahren und persönliche Beziehungen zu Land und Leuten zu entwickeln. Diese Erfahrungen und das in den USA gewonnene Fachwissen werden nach der Rückkehr ins Heimatland angewandt.

Cultural Vistas ist vom U.S. Department of State offiziell als Exchange Visitor Program Sponsor für das J-1 Visum akkreditiert und dadurch von der U.S. Regierung beauftragt, die J-1 „Intern“ und „Trainee“ Programme durchzuführen. Dadurch unterstützt Cultural Vistas internationalen Austausch, ermöglicht die Beantragung des Visums und bietet den Teilnehmern weitere Unterstützung und Betreuung während des Auftenthaltes in den USA.

Wichtig: Alle KandidatInnen für ein Praktikum in den USA müssen ein J-1 Visum beantragen. Das J-1 Visum kann allerdings erst nach Erhalt des „Certificate of Eligibility“ (DS-2019) beantragt werden. Das DS-2019 kann wiederum nur von einem offiziell akkreditierten Exchange Visitor Program Sponsor wie Cultural Vistas ausgestellt werden – die Bewerbung zum J-1 Visum muss also immer über einen Visa Sponsor laufen.

Ziel des J-1 Exchange Visitor Program ist es, das interkulturelle Verständnis zwischen den USA und anderen Nationen zu vertiefen. Durch einen Praktikumsaustausch in Ihrem Studienfach oder Berufsfeld bekommen Sie die Möglichkeit, nicht nur Ihre berufliche Kompetenzen zu erweitern, sondern auch das Leben und die Kultur der USA aus erster Hand zu erleben.

Wie funktioniert das Train USA Programm?

Cultural Vistas’ Train USA Program bietet J-1 Sponsorship für zwei Visumskategorien:

J-1 Intern:
Sie sind gegenwärtig an einer Hochschule eingeschrieben oder haben weniger als 12 Monate vor Praktikumsbeginn Abschluss gemacht: Ihr Praktikum kann von drei Wochen bis maximal 12 Monate dauern.

J-1 Trainee:
Sie haben bereits einen Studienabschluss und danach mindestens ein Jahr Arbeitserfahrung in Ihrem akademischen Bereich (oder Sie haben keinen Abschluss, dafür aber mindestens fünf Jahre an relevanter Arbeitserfahrung außerhalb der USA), dann kann Ihr Praktikum maximal 18 Monate lang sein.

Das Bewerbungsverfahren:

Der erste Schritt ist es, die Zusage einer Gastfirma für das Praktikum zu erhalten. Nachdem Sie mit Ihrer Gastfirma die Dauer, den Inhalt und die mögliche Vergütung abgesprochen haben, sollten Sie mit Ihrer Bewerbung für das Train USA Programm beginnen. Bitte beachten Sie: Die Suche nach der Gastfirma ist nicht im Train USA Programm inbegriffen.

Nach dem Abschicken Ihres Online Application Requests bekommen Sie von Cultural Vistas den vollen Zugang zur passwortgeschützten Online-Bewerbung. Sie können nun alle erforderlichen Dokumente, wie Studiennachweis, Nachweise der englischen Sprachkenntnissen und Information über Ihre Gastfirma hochladen.

Das Train USA Team informiert sowohl Sie als auch Ihre Gastfirma über alle zusätzlichen Dokumente und die zutreffenden Gebühren. Nach dem Erhalt aller Dokumente und Gebühren wird Ihre Bewerbung sorgfältig geprüft, um sicherzustellen, dass Ihr Praktikum alle Anforderungen für das J-1 Visum erfüllt und für Sie und Ihre Gastfirma eine positive Erfahrung wird.

Nachdem alle Voraussetzungen bestätigt sind, stellt Cultural Visas die notwendigen Visumspapiere aus, einschließlich des DS-2019. Diese Dokumente werden per Expresszustellung an Sie geliefert, woraufhin Sie einen Interviewtermin beim zuständigen U.S. Konsulat vereinbaren können. Das Konsulat trifft dann die endgültige Entscheidung über die Ausstellung des Visums.

Alle TeilnehmerInnen erhalten auch ein Infopaket mit Informationen zum Visumsantrag, den Bestimmungen des J-1 Visums, sowie nützlicher Information zum Leben in den USA. Darüber hinaus organisiert Cultural Vistas viele zusätzliche kulturelle Aktivitäten und Events. Außerdem erlaubt Ihnen Ihr J-1 Visum automatisch, jeweils 30 Tage vor und nach dem Praktikum in den USA zu bleiben, um die vielen Seiten des Landes zu entdecken.

Ihr individueller Praktikumsplan:

Jeder Praktikumsaustausch ist anders, und Cultural Vistas arbeitet mit Teilnehmern der unterschiedlichsten Studienrichtungen und einer Vielzahl von Gastfirmen in fast allen Fachgebieten zusammen. Praktika finden in kleinen, mittleren und großen Firmen und in allen Bundesstaaten der USA statt. Cultural Vistas erarbeitet in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Ihrer Gastfirma Ihren individuellen Praktikumsplan.

Programmgebühren:

Die Gebühren richten sich nach der Dauer des Praktikums und dem Studentenstatus der Bewerber.

Als Beispiel: Für Studierende mit einer Programmdauer von drei Monaten beträgt die Programmgebühr $775, dazu kommen $210 für Krankenversicherung ($70 x 3 Monate) sowie die SEVIS-Gebühr von $180 – zusammen also eine Summe von $1.165,00, die an Cultural Vistas entrichtet werden müsste. (Stand Februar 2016)

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen finden Sie auf culturalvistas.org/train.  Bitte lesen Sie sich vorher auch genau die Vorraussetzungskriterien für host companies und participants durch.

Die J-1 Visa Programme werden von unseren Büros in New York oder Washington betreut, Sie können uns im Berliner Büro jedoch immer erreichen, wenn Fragen vor oder während Ihrer Bewerbung auftauchen (info@culturalvistas.eu).

Cultural Vistas’ Train USA program enables students and young professionals to complete professional internships in the United States. Both students and recent graduates are able to complete programs in their area of study, in career fields such as business, engineering, IT, design, hospitality management, and many others. Last year, Cultural Vistas helped over 4,600 individuals from more than 100 countries complete career training in the U.S. on the Train USA program, gaining important professional and linguistic skills and personal development in a global context.

Seattle Space Needle

What is a J-1 Visa?

International students and young professionals wishing to complete an internship in the United States require a J-1 Visa. The J-1 Exchange Visitor Program is a public diplomacy program administered by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, allowing students and young professionals to complete internships related to their career fields, experience the culture and everyday life in the United States, build personal connections with U.S. citizens and communities, and return to their home countries to share their experiences and skills with their fellow citizens.

Cultural Vistas is officially designated by the U.S. Department of State as an “Exchange Visitor Program Sponsor” for the J-1 Visa. Cultural Vistas is granted the authority to administer J-1 Intern and Trainee programs directly from the U.S. government, meaning that we facilitate exchanges, manage the visa application process, and offer in-country support and guidance to program participants.

Important: All prospective participants wishing to complete an internship in the U.S. must apply for a J-1 visa. You are only able to apply for a J-1 Visa after you have received a “Certificate of Eligibility” (DS-2019 form), which in turn can only be issued by an officially designated Exchange Visitor Program Sponsor such as Cultural Vistas.

The purpose of the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program is to promote a mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries through educational and cultural exchanges. By completing an internship program in your field of study or current profession, you are able to not only build your professional competencies but also to experience the life and culture of the U.S. firsthand.

Sign up to receive information on our free webinars and info sessions on the J-1 Visa.

Sign Up

How does the Train USA program work?

Cultural Vistas’ Train USA Program provides visa sponsorship in two J-1 Visa categories:

J-1 Intern:
You are currently enrolled in a post-secondary program of study outside the U.S. or will begin your internship within 12 months of your graduation. The length of your U.S. internship can be between 3 weeks and 12 months.

J-1 Trainee:
You have at least one year of work experience in your field outside the U.S. and already possess a post-secondary degree, or you have already completed at least five years of professional work experience in your field outside of the U.S. without a degree. The length of your U.S. internship can be between 3 weeks –18 months.

Application Process:

The first step in the process is to find an internship with a U.S. host company. Once you have agreed with your host company on the duration, content, and compensation for your internship, you may apply to the Train USA program. Please note that Cultural Vistas cannot find an internship placement for you as part of the Train USA program.

After submitting your online application request, a Cultural Vistas representative will grant you access to the online application form. You may then upload all relevant documents, such as university transcripts, proof of English language ability, and information on your host company in the U.S.

The Train USA team will inform both you and your host company of the necessary supporting documents and fees that must be submitted. Upon receipt of these documents and fees, Cultural Vistas will conduct a formal review of the applications to ensure the internship will be beneficial for both you and the host company and that the internship meets the J-1 Visa requirements.

Once your program is approved, Cultural Vistas Inc. will issue the necessary visa documents (including the DS-2019). These documents will be shipped to you via expedited carrier, at which point you may schedule and attend your visa interview at a U.S. consulate or embassy. The final decision on whether you will receive is visa is at the discretion of the U.S. Consulate or Embassy.

Each participant receives an orientation packet with information on applying for the visa, program rules and expectations, as well as useful information and resources for living in the U.S. Cultural Vistas also organizes a wide range of additional cultural activities and events. Your J-1 Visa allows you to remain in the U.S. for up to 30 days before or after your internship, so that you can travel and get to know the many different sides of the country.

Your Individual Training Plan:

Every program is different! Cultural Vistas works with students and young professionals in a wide range of fields of study, as well as U.S. host companies in nearly every industry. Cultural Vistas works closely with your host company to develop your individual training plan. Cultural Vistas’ participants complete internships in small, medium-sized, and large companies in almost every U.S. state.

Program Fees:

Program fees are based on internship length and student status.

For example: a student completing a 3-month internship in the U.S. through Train USA would pay a program fee of $775, $210 for insurance ($70 x 3 months), and the $180 SEVIS fee = total $1,165 paid to Cultural Vistas.

While the application for visa sponsorship will be conducted by our U.S. offices in New York City and/or Washington DC, Cultural Vistas’ European Office in Berlin is happy to guide you through the initial steps and to answer any questions you have during the process (info@culturalvistas.eu).

How Do I Apply:

The Train USA Program is administered by our U.S. headquarters, Cultural Vistas, Inc. To apply, please visit culturalvistas.org/train.  Before applying please carefully read the detailed eligibility requirements for host companies and participants on our main website.